Seward and York Counties receive StormReady Designation

Seward and York Counties were recently recognized by the National Weather Service as StormReady communities.  Developed by the NWS, StormReady helps to bring awareness to the public within local jurisdictions.  To qualify, a county must meet or exceed the necessary requirements for public education, outreach, and methods of receiving and disseminating emergency warnings to residents and businesses. A formal hazardous weather plan was developed by County Emergency Manager Gary Petersen and assisted by Tom Hiser in Seward County and Gerald Hinrichs in York County which was approved by each respective county board. Staff from the NWS are a valuable resource in achieving the Storm Ready designation.    

 Gary Petersen of Seward & York County Emergency Mgt receives StormReady recognition.